Science

Welcome to GAMS Science Department

Science in the middle school is a three-year journey covering many different topics. At each grade level a combination of earth and space, physical, life and environmental sciences are taught based on the Pennsylvania State Standards. Typical studies could include behavior and properties of light and sound, cells and genetics, weather and chemistry, food webs and interactions along with many other study units.

A Hands-On Approach

At each grade level, students actively experience the true nature of scientific discovery by participating in experiments, activities and projects designed to allow them to learn by doing. Classwork at each grade level is encourages students to problem-solve, analyze data, design experiments and use the scientific method as a basis for looking at real-world situations and problems. Upon completing the middle school science program, students will have the skills and basic knowledge necessary to succeed in advanced science classes.


 Science is a great game. It is inspiring and refreshing. The playing field is the universe itself.   - Isidor Isaac Rabi   

 

Science Teachers

Derek W. Anthony
danthony@gcasd.org

Eric A. Bowman 
ebowman@gcasd.org
https://mrbowmanscience.weebly.com/

Casey I. Brookens

cbrookens@gcasd.org

Emily L. Brookens
ebrookens@gcasd.org

Aric A. Bruner
abrunner@gcasd.org

Sarah L. Diller
sdiller@gcasd.org

Lacey E. Fegan

lfegan@gcasd.org

Yvonne D. Garland
ygarland@gcasd.org

Walter A. Hasis
whasis@gcasd.org

Benjamin T. Herrmann
bherrmann@gcasd.org

Edward L. Holland
eholland@gcasd.org

Deena M. Kirkwood
dkirkwood@gcasd.org

Jeffrey W. Salawage
jsalawage@gcasd.org

Stacie D. Shaner
sshaner@gcasd.org

Elizabeth B. Wilson
ebwilson@gcasd.org

Elizabeth S. Wilson
eswilson@gcasd.org