About Us



Welcome to our school, a place for middle school students to grow physically, mentally, socially and academically. We offer a wide range of learning opportunities for our students and challenge them to do their best to become lifelong learners and productive citizens.


 

A picture of Principal HermanA Message from Our Principal

by Mark Herman


Since July 2007, I have been honored to serve the students, parents, faculty and staff as the principal of Greencastle-Antrim Middle School (GAMS). I have served in education as a teacher, coach, dean, assistant principal, college professor and principal since 1985. I am blessed with a tremendous faculty and staff who are committed to our school’s mission:

Our vision at GAMS is to provide an individualized educational program for all students that is sensitive to each student’s developmental needs. We establish high expectations and purposefully engage students in effective instructional practices to bring about measurable individual growth and achievement. Our faculty collectively studies and implements the research proven “best practices” of effective instruction espoused by the Learning-Focused Schools Model.

We are a family of learners in the midst of a wonderful community that is rich in history and tradition, lavished by community service and sacrifice, proud of its family values and commitment to character; and, dedicated to excellence for the sake of its children. We invite you to partner with us as we endeavor to keep Children First, the motto by which we conduct our work.

Mark Herman
Principal



Our School's Mission:

Through a relational culture in partnership with families and community, we will provide personalized educational programming for all with curriculum that is globally competitive, PA Standards-aligned and GA individualized and enriched; instruction that is “best practice” based, technologically rich, individually responsive and delivered within a professionally collaborative environment; and, assessment that formatively and summatively informs our practice. 

GAMS Office Staff

Mark W. Herman 
Principal
(717) 597-3226 ext. 20500
mherman@gcasd.org

Melissa Shuey
Assistant Principal
(717) 597-3226 ext. 20503
mshuey@gcasd.org

Ashley Martin 

Assistant Principal 
(717) 597-3226 ext. 20503
anmartin@gcasd.org

Linda Harbaugh 

Principal Secretary
(717) 597-3226 ext. 20500
lharbaugh@gcasd.org

Robin Frost 

Career Center Secretary
(717) 597-3226 ext. 20520
rfrost@gcasd.org

Lisa Douglas 

Attendance Secretary
(717) 597-3226 ext. 20501
ldouglas@gcasd.org

Regina Hissong 

Student Services Secretary
(717) 597-3226 ext. 20503
rhissong@gcasd.org

June Hann 

PM Attendance Secretary
(717) 597-3226 ext. 20501
jhann@gcasd.org

 

Recent News